Top 10 Goalkeepers of all time


Stopping the shot from opposing team to get past the net is the challenging and responsible job in a football match. Goalkeepers don’t have it easy- but there have been quite a few of them who have earned legendary status in the game.

Buffon Goalkeepers

Buffon is one of the football’s greatest goalkeepers | Pic: Duy Safari

Iker Casillas once said:

“Being a good person is like a goalkeeper. No matter how many goals you save, some people will only remember the one you missed.”

10. Peter Shilton

The England international was the best shot-stopper of his time. Shilton represented England at five major tournaments. Even though he first his World Cup finals debut at the age of 32, he has the joined record of 10 clean sheets.

9. Dino Zoff

Dino Zoff was the goalkeeper of Juventus from 1972 to 1983 and had 112 national team appearance. In 1982 he became the oldest player ever to win FIFA World Cup at the age of 40 years, four months and 13 days. With the record of 1142 minutes without conceding a goal between 1972 and 1974, he is one of the best goalkeepers that the world has seen.

8. Manuel Neuer

Cristiano Ronaldo

Image by Jan S0L0

Bayern Munich and Germany’s national team goalkeeper has lured lots of fans with his impressive performance on the pitch. After joining to Bayern Munich from Schalke 04 in 2011, 31 years old has won every trophy from his club. Also, he helped his national team to lift the great fourth world cup in 2014. He was also nominated for FIFA Ballon d’Or 2014 alongside Ronaldo and Messi.

7. Neville Southall

The Welsh international was one of the best goalkeepers of his generation and won the FWA Footballer of the year award in 1985. He has won European Cup Winners’ Cup, First Division Championship, FA Cup and FA Charity Shield. Although he made 92 appearances in an international team, he did not feature in any major tournaments. Also after retirement, he has managed and has coached numerous clubs as well as the Welsh youth teams.

6. Gordan Banks

The former Leicester City and Stoke City shot-stopper, Gordan Banks, was one of the best goalkeepers of his time. He was named FWA Footballer of the year in 1972 and FIFA Goalkeeper of the year on six occasions. He also lifted the only world cup trophy of England in 1966 and conceded only two goals in the tournament.

5.  Lev Yashin

Lev Yashin was a Soviet-Russian football goalkeeper and had nickname “Black Spider” because of his prodigious shot-stopping abilities. He spent his 20 years’ career at Dynamo Moscow. He also had 78 caps for the Soviet Union and played three world cups and won the gold medal at 1956 Olympics. IFFHS voted him as the best goalkeeper of the 20th century.

4. Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon first came into the attraction of the world in World Cup play-off first leg in Moscow. He presented “man of the match” gameplay, and since then he has been helping his national side and club sides Parma and Juventus. Buffon moved to Juventus for a world-record fee of £32.5 million in 2001. In 2006 he lifted World Cup trophy and became second in that year’s Ballon d’Or.

3. Peter Schmeichel

The Danish international goalkeeper is mostly remembered for his successful career at Manchester United. He was captain of Manchester United in the historical Champions League Final against Bayern Munich in 1999 and completed the treble that season. He also was the part of national team in 1992 when Denmark won their first UEFA Euro Cup in Sweden. Even though he is a shot stopper, he has remarkably scored ten goals in his footballing career.

2. Oliver Kahn

Former German goalkeeper, Oliver Kahn has an impressive footballing career at Bayern Munich and Karlsruher SC. Having won eight Bundesliga titles, six DFB-Pokals, the UEFA Cup and UEFA Champions League he is one of the most successful German players. He won 1996 UEFA European Championship with his national team and was runner-up in 2002 world cup. In 2002 World Cup his exceptional performance took his country to final, where they lost to Brazil. Kahn made history that year when he became the first and only keeper to win the Golden Ball.

1. Iker Casillas

Iker Casillas is the only goalkeeper to win everything that is to be gained in the world of football. While playing for Real Madrid, he has won all the competitions: five La Liga, two Copa del Rey, four Supercopa de Espana, three Champions League, two UEFA Super Cup, one FIFA Club World Cup and one Intercontinental Cup.
With his international team, he lifted FIFA World Cup in 2010 and two consecutive UEFA European Championship in 2008 and 2012.


About Author

Real Madrid and Cristiano Ronaldo

Leave A Reply